My 10 Favorite West Coast Albums

I have a love/hate relationship with these kinds of lists, leaning more towards hate, but I was inspired by newer west coast emcee Fashawn’s list of his favorite west coast albums posted a little while back.

http://www.complex.com/blogs/2010/01/11/fashawns-top-10-west-coast-hip-hop-albums-of-all-time/

Even though I’ve lived most of my life on the west coast, I started listening to hip hop when I was a kid in Toronto in the ’80s, mostly the most popular stuff like Whodini, Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince, Toronto’s own Maestro Fresh Wes, Young M.C., and whatever was on Rap Traxx compilation tapes. So I guess I’ve always had an east coast bias. But over the years I’ve come to appreciate the west coast’s creative efforts more and more. So here we go, from the bottom to the top…

10. Conscious Daughters- Ear To The Street (1993)

9. Compton’s Most Wanted – It’s A Compton Thang (1990)

8. D.O.C. – No One Can Do It Better (1989)

7. 2Pac – Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z. (1993)

6. Cypress Hill – Cypress Hill (1991)

5. Ras Kass – Soul On Ice (1996)

4. Low Profile – We’re In This Together (1989)

3. Ice Cube – The Predator (1992)

* His first two albums, AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted and Death Certificate would be up here too if I wasn’t trying to fit in different emcees and groups to give a bigger picture.

2. Ice-T – Rhyme Pays (1987)

* Ice-T’s second album, Power, should also be on this list.

1. N.W.A. – Straight Outta Compton (1988)

* Their second album, Niggaz4Life, Dr. Dre’s Chronic and the Dr Dre produced Doggystyle by Snoop Dogg are also crazy classics.

Leave a Reply

